Absence Has Made You Fonder, Hopefully

November 16, 2006 at 6:26 pm (FO, knitting, Work in Progress)

Wow, hi there. Where the hell has the last week gone? I haven’t blogged since last Wednesday? How did that happen? Well, my husband finished his finals for the quarter (he’s in grad school), which means I’m spending a lot less time thinking and obsessing about knitting, for one. And work has been really busy, in a really good way, so I’ve been focused on that too.

 That doesn’t mean I’ve stopped knitting though. I’m still chugging along on some Christmas WIPs, and I have plans to cast on some lace too.Here’s the round-up . . .

Irish Hiking Scarf Progress 

Irish Hiking Scarf—Now, even though I refer to this particular project as “The Scarf That Eats Time,” in the appropriate booming voice, I am managing to knock off a few inches of this every day. Not the most exciting knit, but it’s getting there. Hopefully I can wrap it up in the next two weeks or so. Vague enough timeline for you?

Koigu Sock Koigu Sock—This one’s probably going to take me a while, so it will fill the required “mindless stockinette WIP for movie-watching” slot for a while. I’ve actually gotten used to DPNs on this one, which is a huge accomplishment for me. I never thought it would happen.

 And finally, I do have a finished object to show you (I’m a stinker putting it at the end of the post, aren’t I. . .well that’s because it’s really not all that exciting)

Pete’s London Beanie

Pattern: London Beanie by Sarah Bradberry 
Source: Knitting-and
Materials: Paton’s Classic Merino Wool (100% Merino Wool) in Light Grey Mix, Dark Grey Mix and Paprika, 1 skein each; Inox 16″ Circulars, Size 7, Susan Bates 16″ Circulars, Size 6, Brittany Birch DPNs, Size 7
Started: November 11, 2006
Completed: November 13, 2006
This is a Christmas gift for my dear brother-in-law, as my husband claimed the first one I made. The BIL has a healthy-sized noggin, so I cast on 90 st instead of the recommended 72 and knit the ribbing portion on a smaller needle. I also did not increase after the ribbing like the pattern recommends, because of the aforementioned needle size change. I really love this pattern, and I will make many, many more of these. I’ll probably make another for my husband soon, but in the orange color with different color grey stripes.

These projects are pretty simple, which is why I’ve made a deal with myself that once I’ve seamed and finished my neice’s baby sweater (still haven’t done that–for shame!) I can cast on some lace. I’m thinking either Evelyn Clark’s Lace Leaf Shawl from Fibertrends in Karabella Breeze or her Trellis Scarf from Interweave in the recommended Knitpicks Alpaca Cloud. I also want to cast on some fingerless gloves with some Green Mountain Spinnery Mountain Mohair that I purchased a while back. I’m really disappointed in how the Little Twist Armwarmers I made have worn. I’ve only had them for a month or so and the Knitpicks Swish is just pilling horribly. They really look bad. I hate when that happens . . .

1 Comment

  1. Leah said,

    Oh, great gifts! I really like that beanie! The stripes are so cool!

    We all need an stst sock to pass the time now and then! That is a great koigu colorway! So warm & pretty!

    Don’t even get me started on pilling yarns! I’m wearing my lace leaf pullover from the book “loop-d-loop” right now and it’s really pilly. I used rowan polar and it’s soft and warm and the fit is fantastic but it’s REALLY pilly. Oh well, I still love it but it may be sent to the “I can only wear this at home” basket. *sigh*

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

