Saturday Anew

May 5, 2007 at 10:41 am (Finishing, Inspiration, knitting, Work in Progress, Yarn)

Not much to tell, but plenty to show on this bright Saturday morning.

Blocking

Razor  Cami Blocking

As you can see by the absence of straps, I did indeed run out of yarn. However, I bought some navy blue ribbon yesterday, and I’m going to make straps out of that. I’m not the world’s best sewer, but I’m hoping that it works. We shall see.

Casting On

Tivoli Progress

I’ve cast on for the Tivoli in Ink Blue Sky Dyed Cotton. This yarn has been in my stash for about a year. It was originally purchased for the Chevron Rib Tank, but after reading some poor reviews of that pattern I used it to make about half of the Blue Sky Fitted Tank. I got gauge with Size 9 needles per the pattern directions, but I really didn’t like the fabric it created. This time, I’m using Size 8 needles, and the fabric is loverly. I did, however, have to completely rewrite the pattern, since Dyed Cotton has a worsted gauge and the pattern calls for a sport/DK gauge. It fits so far, but we’ll see how it goes.

Inspiration

I came home to find my Summer 2007 Interweave in the mailbox. I’ve already devoured it, of course, and I think there are at least two patterns are my most likely to succeed. So pretty.

I’ve also been ogling some yarns to create this:

I’d like to try the Karabella Zodiac that the pattern calls for, but the price is a little steep. So I’m also thinking about Brown Sheep Cotton Fleece in Wolverine Blue and Elann Sonata in French Navy. Any other suggestions for a reasonably priced yarn sub? I really don’t think I can stomach $40 for a tank top, lovely as it may be. Especially since I’m likely to purchase some Blue Sky Alpaca Silk today to start the Clementine Shawlette. Alpaca Silk is probably my favorite yarn, and I think this shawl would be a perfect birthday gift for my sister. I have to get it started soon though, as her birthday is coming up fast—June 3.

Mexico

And finally, I picked this up yesterday at the Post Office. I have to say, it was not fun to compare the current passport photo with the one from 10 years ago. I’ll just have to remain focused on all the wisdom I’ve acquired, even if it has been accompanied by roughly 15 pounds and less resilient skin!

Passport

3 Comments

  1. isel said,

    If you can find some Jo Sharp Soho Summer, I know it’s being discontinued…but some online stores still have it on clearance. It looks very similar to the Karabella.

    I got my new passport recently, and boy, what a difference! I think for the better, though. :D
    Imagine that!

  2. Theresa said,

    Looks like you’re quite on your way to a good summer of knitting.

  3. Kasia said,

    If you are thinking about Wheat-Ear Cable Yoke Sweater, I wanted to invite you to KAL that will start on the 1st of September. Please feel free to visit our KAL blog http://www.wheatearcableyokeknitalong.blogspot.com/
    Happy Knitting!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

