Four Hours

December 16, 2007 at 3:54 pm (FO, knitting)

Was all it took to turn this . . .

Blue Sky Bulky

Into this…

Neckwarmer

ohmygoditssooooosooooft

Pattern: Cashmere Neckwarmer
Source: Yarn Abuse

Materials: Blue Sky Bulky Naturals (50% Alpaca, 50% Wool) , Polar Bear (1004), 1 hank; Size 13 straights
Started: December 15, 2007
Completed: December 15, 2007

While on a day trip to Buffalo yesterday I stopped by two yarn shops to get the supplies for my substitute Christmas present for Mom. I wanted the hat and scarflette to match, but not be too matchy-matchy. Although I hemmed and hawed about the yarn choice (Cascade Magnum, Takhi Baby, and Plymouth Baby Alpaca Grand were all choices), I eventually settled on this very bulky, and very soft alpaca blend. The yardage is on the skimpy side (only 45 yards) but it’s just so soft and fluffy that I couldn’t pass it up. I needed every last bit of those 45 yards – this only reached the pattern’s 25-inch length with some aggressive blocking. And I had only about an inch of yarn left.

The button was a bit of a surprise; I thought I was buying one of the regular $3.00 wooden buttons, but after I paid I realized I’d picked out the $7.50 version, which the store owner informed me was made out of “antler.” Ok. Well at least it’s pretty.

The pattern is fun to do and goes so fast – I got home from Buffalo at 3:00 and this was blocking by 7:00. I love that! Thanks Kim!

So now, I’m working on turning this…

Noro Kureyon

Into this . . . I’m thinking it will take more than four hours. Oh well, can’t have instant gratification with every project! I have to pat myself on the back for restraining myself while in the yarn shop, as they had stocked Noro sock yarn!! While I found a lot of the colors to be garish, they did have one or two really beautiful neutral, natural colorways that I absolutely loved. Well, they had two, 149 and 150. But, since this (I can’t believe I got my hands on some Vesper!!) just came in the mail this week, I held back. All in good time…

6 Comments

  1. crimsonpurl said,

    Oh my you are work with my favorite yarns!!

    I LUV me some NORO (and that colorway too!) You don’t have a thing for naturals do you?

    The neckwarmer is in my que for this month and I can’t wait to start knitting it!
    The button was SO worth it!!! And your neckwarmer looks so luxurious…I am going to have to do my own in the Blue Sky

  2. Leah said,

    I think I NEED a cashmere neckwarmer! YUM!

  3. jenna said,

    That neckwarmer looks delicious!!! Who wouldn’t love getting that as a gift?

  4. kim said,

    I love the button, and the yarn looks so dreamy! (also, I can’t help but feel really flattered that you made this neckwarmer!)

  5. Stef said,

    I have some not-at-all-cashmere set aside to make the neckwarmer. Yours looks so much softer than mine is going to be.

  6. Sora said,

    This is the 2nd time I have seen this pattern and I am dying to try it.
    Sadly, I can’t find the pattern anywhere. Would you be so good as to share it?
    Thanks very much!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

