Like a Record Baby

August 21, 2008 at 9:11 am (knitting)

I’d like to introduce you to my shrug, also know as the “first apparel item to make it out of the house on my person.” Yay!

Monotone Shrug
Monotone ShrugMonotone Shrug

Pattern: Two-Tone Ribbed Shrug by Stefanie Japel

Source: Fitted Knits

Materials: Paton’s Classic Wool Merino (100% Merino Wool) in Olive, 2 skeins; Size 5 and 7 24″ circs

Started: August 2007

Completed: June 2008

Procrastination is the devil, man. I started this at the tail end of last summer and put it down once Christmas knitting commenced. Or, actually I believe I put it down because I was putting off seaming the sleeves and picking up stitches. I finally did this in May and the thing magically finished itself. I then waited two (2!) months to weave in ends and block it. I’m officially the laziest knitter ever.

Anyhoo, now that it’s all done and pretty, I absolutely love it. See I have this problem in the evenings where just the back of my arms get chilled (a little weird, I know). This solves it. So despite the fact that the other night my friend kept teasing me that I was missing the rest of my sweater, and then going on to suggest all the things I could do to earn the money to get the yarn to finish the sweater….ahem….this is my first knitted apparel success story. See, I’m trying this new thing where I actually wear the things I spend hours upon hours knitting. A novel concept, I know.

So here’s the other stuff I’m working on.

Prairie Tunic
Prairie Tunic

This is now all seamed up; I just have to figure out how to make a twisted cord. Which I’ve heard is a lot trickier than the instructions might suggest. Difficult or no, the first step is to figure out how to measure out 48 feet (feet!) in fingering weight yarn without getting my dog completely entangled in it, since he rarely wanders more than two feet away from me when I’m home. This could definitely be interesting.

 Carnelian Ring

Alsoooooo…..on the conspicuous consumption side of things, I want to show you my new loverly carnelian ring, which I bought from Jenna ‘s Etsy shop Small Bird. Go there immediately and buy her beautiful and well-made designs! Go on!

I’d like to add that I totally forgot the point of my title, but have decided to keep it there anyway. Cuz it’s my blog and I’ll do what I want. So there.

5 Comments

  1. Sarah said,

    Your shrug is adorable — it fits you so well! Congrats on finally finishing it.

  2. Julie said,

    the shurg looks awesome! And your prairie tunic looks amazing on that blocking board… here’s hoping you’ll have another success with it, too!

  3. kim said,

    Man, you are busy! That shrug looks awesome, btw, I love how it dress uppy it looks while still looking cool and relaxed.

  4. peacockchic said,

    Love the shrug. Here is to wearing your knits!!!

  5. jenna said,

    Right now, I’m raising my glass of wine to your first finished garment, to knitting procrastination, to conspicuous consumption, and to naming your posts whatever the heck you want!

    I knit the Prairie Tunic, but I never did figure out the twisted cord thing…I braided. :( Also, I am WAY jealous of your fancy blocking board.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

