Nothing Gold Can Stay

October 13, 2008 at 8:47 am (knitting)

So I took advantage of the last 80 degree day my part of Upstate New York will probably see this year to snap some pictures of my new scarf and gloves.

Noro

Here are the specs, we’ll start with the scarf:

Pattern: Clapotis by Kate Gilbert
Source: Knitty, Fall 2004
Materials: Noro Silk Garden (45% Silk, 45% Mohair, 10% Lambswool) in 269, 3 skeins; Size 7 Brittany Birch Single Points
Started: September 21, 2008
Completed: October 3, 2008

I bought this beautiful colorway of Noro Silk Garden on a whim from Little Knits (it’s still on sale if you want to check it out) with the original intention of making another multidirectional scarf. I had made one when I first started knitting, but only used one skein of Kureyon so ended up with more of a cravat. Unfortunately, that pattern in this colorway created kind of a patchwork, 80s-looking scarf that even two balls into the knitting I disliked enough to rip it out and start with a new pattern. Enter Clapotis.
Clapotis

I’ve made the ubiquitous Clapotis before, and I’ll probably make it again. It’s a lot of fun to knit and it really does justice to about any yarn you can throw at it. It’s really is just that great of a pattern. I do wish it was a little bit longer. I used every bit of the three skeins, even spit-splicing so as not to waste any precious yardage, and even with agressive blocking I only eked about 53 inches out of it. It is, however, about 17 inches wide so I probably could have forgone a repeat in the first section and got another few inches in length. Oh well, bygones!

ClapotisClapotis

It’s really beautiful though, and I’m sure I’ll wear the hell out of it this winter.

Next!

 Noro Mitts

Pattern: Noro Fingerless Mitts by Michelle Molis
Source: Another Knitting Blog
Materials: Noro Silk Garden (45% Silk, 45% Mohair, 10% Lambswool) in ??, 1 skein; Size 7 Brittany Birch DPNs
Started: February  2008
Completed: February  2008

These were completed in a stash-busting exercise way back in February but sat unblocked with ends unwoven, feeling completely neglected. In hindsight I would have knit the ribbing at the nuckles and thumb a bit shorter and tighter since the fit leaves a little bit to be desired. They’ll work for the timebeing, although I’m sure that once I’ve finished my Dashings these will find their way to a new owner. The colorway is just so pretty though.

I was very inspired by the beautiful fall weather that came our way this weekend, so here are a few more images from around my parents’ yard…

AutumnAutumn

AutumnAutumnAutumnAutumn

Sorry if I bogged down your computer with all the pictures! I couldn’t resist; we’re not going to have light like this to take nice pictures for much longer….

Next up, I finished my 28Thirty, so once the blocking is done and the buttons are on you’ll get to see it too… I can just feel the excitement. Happy Colombus Day!

4 Comments

  1. Emily said,

    Oooo, what better way to celebrate fall than with gorgeous Noro knits! I love the neutral Clapotis!

  2. Janet said,

    Now I know what to do with my Silk Garden in the same colorway that I also bought on a whim. I do have 4 skeins though. Do you like the width of yours? Love all your Noro. I’m really thinking of trying out the Silk Garden sock, but for a scarf, not socks. Also, your pictures are so pretty!

  3. Julie said,

    your clap is so pretty! And those fingerless mitts are lovely, too. Bring on the fall!

  4. Jodi said,

    Lovely projects! I’ve been admiring the neutral colorway of Silk Garden since it came out. Now I may just break down and buy some since it’s on sale. Looks like it’s the perfect time of year for fingerless mitts, too.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

