Finished Object—Ropes and Ladders Scarf

October 24, 2006 at 2:19 pm (FO, knitting)

ropes-cables-closeup.jpg

Pattern: Ropes & Ladders by JenniferTallapaneni

Source: Free pattern from Pieknits

Materials: Nashua Handknits Creative Focus Chunky (75% Wool, 25% Alpaca) in Lettuce, 2 skeins; Crystal Palace Bamboo Single Points, Size 10

Size: 7″ x 70″

Started: September 9, 2006

Completed: September 23, 2006

This has been “resting” in my WIP basket—I just got around to blocking it a month after finishing it. Yay for laziness. I knit this as a birthday present for my sister; the birthday isn’t until December, but I figured I’d be in the throes of Christmas knitting by that time so I wanted to get it out of the way. It was such a fun pattern to knit. I was completely addicted to it the whole way through, a rare thing for little miss short-attention-span. The cable is really easy to memorize, and kind of has a rhythm to it once you get it. The yarn . . . . oh, the yarn . . . . so soft, the color is fantastic, and it’s just . . . squooshy. Yum. It gets even better after blocking, both the pattern and the yarn. It was a little stiff at first, and I was worried that I should’ve used a bigger needle. After I blocked it—it just drapes, drapes, drapes. It’s a single ply, though, so you have to be a bit cautious about splitting it.

ropes-cables-worn.jpg

*Sorry about the poor lighting, it’s hard getting home in time to photograph my knitting properly . . . plus taking a picture of youself is not easy.

Good thing my sister rocks, I totally want to keep this one!

This one shows the color best . . .

ropesladderscascade.jpg

*Unless I secretly photograph it at work!

6 Comments

  1. jackie said,

    Looks great! I think someone will really enjoy it!

  2. Karin said,

    Coming over from Craftster–I really like that shade of green.

    I’m starting the Irish Hiking Scarf soon too, for a Christmas gift. It’s my “November Christmas Project” meaning that I’m starting it next Wednesday–giving me another week to devote all my attention towards projects for me and only me :).

  3. Jen said,

    Beautiful work! I was thinking about knitting this very same scarf and am twice as inspired now that I’ve seen Jen’s and yours to get in on the needles 🙂

  4. Kimberly S said,

    It’s beautiful! Good job. 🙂

  5. Emily said,

    Beautiful scarf!! I know what you mean about it getting dark so early. Pretty soon I’ll have to take all my knitting pics on the weekend!

  6. sonja said,

    I love the ropes and ladders scarf – very nicely done. I am also making the rish hiking scarf.

Leave a Reply

