Mmmmm . . . Lace

November 1, 2006 at 5:58 pm (knitting, Work in Progress, Yarn)

Isn’t it amazing how the project on which you most want to work reflects your mindset  at any given time? For me, when I’m in a nesting mode, I want sweaters, I want wool. When I’m feeling restless, it’s got to be the small, intricate project. When I’m sad, mindless stockinette, all the way. And when I’m stressed and overwhelmed . . .  I want lace. I’m aware that the nodding probably stopped with the last one there.

When the going gets tough for me, well . . . I really don’t want to think about it. Without going into too much detail, work has been really challenging this week. When I’m stressed out, I find it near impossible to turn my brain off, stop its racing and give it rest time. Enter lace knitting. It is a balm for my chapped and bruised mind. I can’t think about anything else while I’m doing it, and yet it has an enormously soothing rhythm in each row that encourages muscle memory. I feel so accomplished when I’ve finished that repeat and I stretch out the knitting before me to see a beautiful pattern emerge. It’s like magic.

So, as you can imagine, the Flower Basket Shawl is getting some long overdue attention this week. And if work keeps up the way it has, it’ll be done before Thanksgiving.

fbprogress1.jpg

Oh, and this yarn, Frog Tree Alpaca Sport, is so silky soft too. The color’s a little off on my monitor; it’s got more red in it than fuscia, but you get the general idea.

Definitely. Try it.

4 Comments

  1. stitchywitch said,

    Ooh… so pretty! I’ll definitely take a look at that yarn next time I’m at the LYS!

  2. Karin said,

    You know, I am the same way. When I want to get my mind off things I have to do something that takes total concentration. Usually that’s sewing clothing from a pattern though; I am still a crappy sewer and I really have to focus.

  3. Theresa said,

    OK, I definitely stopped nodding after the first three . . . but glad you’re picking up a long overdue project!

  4. Leah said,

    I’m the same way too! Knitting is so much cheaper than a shrink! 😉

    I hope things at work get better soon but I still want to see that shawl finished!!

Leave a Reply

