Strange Designs

November 17, 2006 at 3:14 pm (Inspiration, knitting)

Do you find that knitting makes you consider wearing things that you wouldn’t otherwise? I normally dress very plainly—jeans and a black sweater or t-shirt mainly. The knitting certainly steers me away from my black top comfort zone, mostly because it is pretty uninspiring to knit in black, and because it could possibly ruin my already feeble eyesight. It also encourages me to try different constructions, assymetrical sillouettes and patterned stitches. I mean, seriously, would any of us ever worn a shrug if they weren’t so easy and fun to knit? A lace triangle shawl? Legwarmers? Anyone?

I was checking out the spring preview for Knitscene (which, why is there a Spring preview out before Christmas?) and I noticed this little number.

Orbit Lace Top

I would probably never have picked this out if I weren’t a knitter, but I really, really like this and it looks like it would be interesting to make. It’s not that there’s anything wrong with it, per se, but it’s strapless and tunic-length. Not what I normally wear or even pick up to try on in a store. I’d probably put on some straps and do it in another color, but don’t you think this would look great in the summer over a tank top with a black pencil skirt? Or over an A-shirt with jeans and flip flops even.

I guess what the knitting does is expose us to designers with a view that is certainly different than those designers that Banana Republic, Gap and the like employ. That’s not to say I’ve never shopped at those stores or that there is anything wrong with them. I’m just saying that as fashion becomes increasingly homogenous, it’s nice to be able to make something one of a kind that was dreamed up by a designer that doesn’t have to think about appeasing the majority of the population. Knitting gives us an in with fresh design without haute couture prices. And that makes me really happy. Even if that means I end up knitting tube tops and legwarmers from time to time.

4 Comments

  1. Karin said,

    ITA. I actually put thought into what I wear and how I acessorise now!

    I see your Irish Hiking Scarf is continuing to grow….same with mine. The end is nigh!

  2. Theresa said,

    Absolutely! Because the things I want to knit don’t always match up that well with the things I’d normally wear. So I’ve expanded my horizons a lot through knitting.

  3. Leah said,

    I agree as well! I think it’s helped me with more color choices as well as styles of knits!

    We ALL need a knit tube top! I knit up one a couple of years ago & I get tons of compliments every time I wear it!

  4. Emily said,

    Yes, I’ve noticed I’m drawn to more and different colors for knitting than I normally would. That top is really cute!!!

Leave a Reply

