Lookee What I Did

November 24, 2006 at 9:39 am (knitting, Work in Progress)

While digesting a delicious Thanksgiving dinner yesterday, I performed a miracle of knitting. turned the heel of my very first sock, and began gusset decreases.

[Insert angelic chorus here.]

Turned Heel

For those more experienced knitters, this may not be so exciting. But considering that I’m just coming up on my first knitaversary, this is a wonder. I’m so pleased that actually can’t wait to try kitchener stitch. I’m not kidding!

When my fingers fatigued from the tiny metal needles, I cast on and made some good headway on my other sister’s Christmas Hat, the Basic Cable from Stitch N Bitch Nation in Paton’s Classic Merino Wool in Natural Mix.

Basic Cable Start

Now, while it annoys me that the bottom ribbing doesn’t line up with the cables, I think I will actually like it once it’s finished, and more importantly, I think it will look really nice on my sister’s head.

In other knitting news, I think I’m going to frog the Irish Hiking Scarf. I’m almost done with it, so this is very painful, but frankly I think I should be knitting it on a smaller sized needle. It’s just too drapy and doesn’t have the nice cable pop. Sigh . . . I’m going to have to marinate the thought for a little longer though before I pull out all that work.

And since dear husband and I will be spending Christmas with his family down south, we’ll be celebrating the holiday with my family on December 16. Which means, I have about three weeks to finish my projects. Eeek!! Since lists sooth my Virgo heart, here’s the status of my Christmas knitting:

Flower Basket Shawl for Mom: Done!

Irish Hiking Scarf for Dad: Must be frogged and restarted . . .  I think . . .

Basic Cable for Eldest Sister: 40%

Odessa for Middle Sister: Done!

London Beanie for Brother-in-Law: Need to fix the color jogs a bit, but otherwise Done!

V-Neck Cardigan for Sweet Niece: Needs to be seamed and then I can pick up and knit the front button band.

Scarf & Fingerless Gloves for Husband: If time permits . . .

So I think I’m doing all right. I’m much less intimidated by the button band on the baby sweater now that I’ve turned the heel on a sock!! I love how even the most intimidating aspects to knitting, most always turn out to be relatively simple in execution.

3 Comments

  1. courtney said,

    Good work on the sock! It looks really good.

  2. Theresa said,

    Congratulations on reaching this important milestone in your knitting life – it looks great!

  3. Old Knitter said,

    Great job on the sock…and there is a lot of help out there with the Kitchener Stitch. I really like the colors in the yarn you used for the sock.

Leave a Reply

