Another Peaceful Saturday Morning

November 25, 2006 at 11:28 pm (Inspiration, knitting, Work in Progress)

I spent my precious Saturday morning with a lovely companion . . .


Trellis Scarf in Progress

I settled in with the Trellis Scarf, a cup of very strong coffee and Oliver, and away I went. It was a little awkward at first, as I’m not accustomed to laceweight. But I had the yarn in my stash and I’ve wanted a lacey scarf for some time now. The dreaded K7tog to five st decrease was actually not that bad. I made sure to purl the row before it very loosely and it went just fine, even on Clover bamboo needles. I may make my life easier and sharpen my needle tips, I think it would make the laceweight that much easier to handle.

I finally signed up for my library card this week and picked up some gems. Rochester has a great library system, and it’s searchable online. Plus I’m pretty particular about the knitting books I buy–both the budget and the fact that we have so many books that most of them live in boxes in the attic preclude too many knit book purchases. It’s ok, I’d rather check them out of the library and spend my money on yarn!

Books
Unfortunately they didn’t have EZ’s Knitting Without Tears when I went, but luckily my dear husband found it at one of the branches this morning. I’ll have excellent reading all week now. I think I see a Ganomy hat and mitred mittens in my future . . .

7 Comments

  1. Lynn said,

    Hey there. I just recently started reading your blog and have a quick question. I’m often annoyed by the dullness of my bamboo needles and you mentioned sharpening them for lace. Did you just stick them in a pencil sharpener and then wax them for slipperiness? Just curious.

    Also, I was in Rochester for several years as an RIT student. Represent!

  2. godsprincess said,

    Hi! That is so cool. I learned how to knit a few months back but,I have a hard time trying to do any sort of pattern. Are there any tips you could give me?

  3. Katie said,

    I recently joined my public library, and have been checking out all sorts of knitting books. This works particularly well for me, as a large number of my knitting books are reserved for bedtime browsing rather than for actual knitting.

  4. Theresa said,

    Classics – all of them!

  5. lizadilly said,

    beautiful color choice!

  6. Lisa L said,

    That moment sounds lovely – sitting down with a warm beverage and knitting lace – and beautiful lace at that!

  7. Leah said,

    Great library haul! I can’t wait to see what you make from them!

Leave a Reply

