The Wonderful World of Yarn

November 30, 2006 at 10:14 am (knitting, Yarn)

I’ve had precious little time to knit lately. Work has been intense and I’m very tired when I get home.  You can trust that the Basic Cable Hat, Trellis Scarf and Irish Hiking Scarf are coming along, but I’ll spare you the boring progress shots today. (Plus I’m too lazy to pull out the camera right now!)

I was able to expose my husband to the wide and wonderful world of yarn this week. He requested a pair of fingerless gloves a while back, and it’s a good thing I haven’t cast on for the Knucks I was planning because he amended his request earlier this week. An avid fly fisherman, he decided he would like a pair of fingerless gloves with a mitt that folds over top of his fingers to keep his fingers warm while casting, yet still allow the nimbleness needed to attach his lures. And he’d really like it if they were water resistant. Is that possible? Why yes!! It is!! I present to you my next project, the Broad Street Mittens by Janet Cortese, available from Knitty.

Broad Street Mitts

The best part is the Dale of Norway Hauk from which they will be knit. I just ordered some from Webs. Needless to say, he was very surprised to find out that there actually is water-resistant yarn. Then I really blew his mind when I informed him that yarn is made out of lots of things, including soy, bamboo and seaweed to name a few. I was probably a bit of a know-it-all, but I absolutely love telling my husband things he doesn’t know already. Even if it outs me as a yarn dork to the Nth degree . . . .a fact that I generally keep on the DL* with the non-knitters. You know how it is . . .

*Yes, 1999 did just call; and yes, it would like its slang back.

3 Comments

  1. Emily said,

    Heheh! I’m sure your DH knows more than he wanted to about yarn now. 😉

  2. Karin said,

    I made those for Aaron two years ago. If you have any questions with the pattern don’t hesitate to ask!

    That yarn sounds really neat!

  3. Theresa said,

    Looks great, and I’m sure it will be a much appreciated gift. But I agree – my knitterly soul wants the ribbing to match up!

Leave a Reply

