Sweater Weather

December 5, 2006 at 9:59 am (Inspiration, knitting, Yarn)

Upstate New York is serving up some seriously cold weather right now. Although I’m still wrapping up my Christmas knitting, I’m finding myself daydreaming of future sweaters for which I’d love to cast on. I’m  in the middle of my first sweater right now,  to be completed post-Xmas knitting, but a girl can have dreams, right?  I’ll level with you, I spend a good amount of time thinking about projects that I’d like to try and finding the yarns with which I’d like to make them. It’s a fun pastime when you’ve got some downtime and a ready internet connection. 🙂 The planning also really gives me a chance to explore the yarn options that are out there and find the best ones for me at the best price for my budget. I’m knitting on a fairly strict budget. When I started knitting, I ended up spending a lot of my hard-to-come-by yarn money on beautiful yarn—one skein at a time. So it sits in my craft room unused, simply because I don’t have enough of it to really make anything (note: must purchase One Skein and stash bust!). But I’ve changed my ways. I’m much more project focused now. I choose the project first, and then buy the yarn. So here’s a peak at my knitdreams for post-Christmas selfish knitting. Don’t hold me to this though, I change up the list all the time!

Central Park Hoodie (by Heather Lodinsky, Knitscene, Fall 2006)

 central-park-hoodie.jpg

I know, this one comes with one hell of a bandwagon, but I just love it. Well, I love all hoodies, but this one in particular. And, I think it will make a fantastic second project. Peace Fleece in Kamchatka Sea Moss makes me swoon a little everytime I look at it. Plus it’s got just the right gauge for the project.

Ribby Cardi (by Bonne Marie Burnes, Chicknits)

Ribby Cardi 

Eeesh, I’m so unoriginal. But I’d wear it. A lot. Especially if I make it in the Elann Peruvian Collection Highland Wool in Calypso Green.

Lace Leaf Pullover (by Teva Durham, Loop D Loop)

 Lace Leaf Pullover

A little more challenging, what with the grafting, and not a cardigan, so I’m in. I’d like it in Knitpicks Wool of the Andes Bulky in Pewter, please.

Lara (by Debbie Bliss, Alpaca Silk)

 Lara

I’ve wanted to make this for a while in Knitpicks Wool of the Andes in Lake Ice Heather. Perfect weekend sweater with jeans and a grey tank top.

 Hourglass (by Joelle Hoverson, Last Minute Knitted Gifts)

Hourglass 

A good intro to yoked sweaters, thus opening the door to most of the patterns I like in Norah Gaughn’s Knitting Nature. And I have 12 balls of Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran in plum in my stash right now that are dying to become this.

Shawl Collar Jacket (by Alexandra Virgiel, Artisokka)

 Shawl Collar

I really like Alexandra Virgiel’s patterns, they’re simply constructed, elegant and classic with interesting details. I’d like to make this in the suggested yarn, Beaverslide Goods Fisherman, about which I’ve heard great things.

And in the “only after given a sizable gift certificate” category, I’d also love to make the Greek Pullover from Interweave in the called-for Rowan Kid Classic in one of  their new colors, peat. I saw this color in person the other day, and I’m in love with it.

Whoo! I’m exausted after all that speculation. Back to the Christmas knitting. I received my Dale of Norway Hauk I ordered from Webs, more on that in the next post.

4 Comments

  1. Katie said,

    These are all beautiful sweaters and cardigans. I think my favorite is the Shawl Collar Jacket.

  2. Leah said,

    What great ideas! I loved knitting up the lace leaf pullover (the grafting wasn’t so bad & it knits up quick) and I’m almost done with my hourglass. That pattern is a breeze!

    I really want a central park hoodie as well so maybe I’ll just jump on that bandwagon with you!

  3. Theresa said,

    Knitpicks also has a nice alpaca silk blend that would be a good sub for the Debbie Bliss.

  4. Emily said,

    You have some great projects on your wish list!! I love the planning part a lot too….it’s all part of the fun! I really want to make the Lace Leaf pullover this winter….it looks like a quick but fun knit.

Leave a Reply

