My Kind of Christmas Shopping

December 10, 2006 at 12:17 pm (knitting, stash, Yarn)

The little elves have been plenty busy here at Casa Flower City Knits, finishing up scarves, hats and baby sweaters. While the finishing touches are still being made on holiday knits, I’ve managed to sneak in some stash enhancement while doing my holiday shopping. Just a few little things, you know . . .

Dale of Norway Hauk

The Dale of Norway Hauk for the Broad Street Mittens from Knitty that I mentioned in a previous post. I ordered this from Webs, not realizing that my LYS actually carries it, and at a lower price. Whoops! This is actually pretty nice yarn, and it’s softer than I thought it would be.

Rowan Cork

Some Rowan Cork that I found in the clearance bin at my LYS. Score! I absolutely love this yarn. It has a tubular construction, which makes it really soft and lofty. I can’t wait to finish the Log Cabin Socks from Handknit Holidays that it will become. As you can see, I also couldn’t wait to start them. 🙂

Jaggerspun Zephyr

Jaggerspun Zephyr for the Swallowtail Shawl from the Fall 2006 Interweave Knits. I’m not planning on starting this for a bit, as I already have Trellis on the needles and the Lace Leaf Shawl waiting in the wings, but I’d like to have it done for a wedding I’m attending in May.

Lana Grossa Mielenweit Fun

This was a total impulse purchase–I now understand how knitters amass huge stashes of sock yarn. I think I’ll make some Jaywalkers out of this at some point. It’s Lana Grossa Mielenweit Fun.

So there you have it–plenty to keep my fingers busy through the winter. And I’m officially on a yarn diet now. My bin o’ yarn is full, and almost all of my skeins are for specific projects. Now I just have to focus, and get them knitted. I’ve kind of been all over the place with my knitlist. Time to whittle down those WIPs and about-to-be WIPs. A wealth of projects is a good problem to have though, and I’ll be able to get some serious work done over the Christmas holiday. I have two 18-hour car rides to look forward to and a week and a half without work–great knitting potential!!

3 Comments

  1. Theresa said,

    And that’s why we buy sock yarn – a known quantity for a known object. It’s just so easy.

  2. Katie said,

    Rowan Cork is lovely – what a lucky find!

  3. Lisa L said,

    Beautiful yarn choices – you definitely have enough to keep you busy during our cold upstate weather!

Leave a Reply

