Brought to You by the Letters “F” and “O”

December 14, 2006 at 9:57 am (FO, Work in Progress, Yarn)

 Irish Hiking Scarf Finished

Pattern: Irish Hiking Scarf 
Source: Hello Yarn
Materials: Debbie Bliss Merino DK (100% Merino Wool) in #46, 2.5 skeins; Brittany Birch SPs, Size 7
Started: October 22, 2006
Completed: December 12, 2006

Dimensions: 6″ x 62″
I previously referred to this as “the scarf that ate time.” And yes, it’s true, at times I found its knitting a bit tedious. But sometime last week I hit my groove with it, and after that it practically knit itself. And really, once it’s blocked, it’s just such a gorgeous scarf—simple and elegant. I may make one of these for myself at some point, but in a worsted or aran weight, perhaps the Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran like Lisa did. (Doesn’t her version look amazing? I’m in love with it.) This is a Christmas gift for my Dad, who is into all things Irish. He’s interested in his heritage and researching our family’s geneology, plus he just went to Ireland for the first time this year. I thought this aptly named scarf in green would be perfect for him. I made it in a lighter weight wool because he’s not a bulky scarf kind of guy. I also intended to make this a shorter length, about 45-50″ inches, but it grew like crazy when I blocked it. Oh well. The yarn is nice, but for some reason I was kind of meh about it while making the scarf. Once I blocked it though I began to think that it’s a keeper. It’s really soft and wonderful.  I have a ball and a half left over, so I may buy a contrasting color and make Corazon from Knitty. We’ll see if I ever get around to that! Here’s a blocking shot, which I’ll admit is completely gratuitous—I really want to show off my new blocking board, a gift from my husband (his name is Matt, I’m getting tired of the “my husband” since I tend to talk about him a lot). Christmas came early for me this year. Yay!

Blocking IHS

In other knitting news, I’ve become addicted to the Log Cabin Socks. I’m about to turn the heel, what a quick knit! I love the Rowan Cork, and I’m so sad it’s discontinued. A sweater in this yarn would be a thing of comfy, squishy softness. For shame Rowan!

Log Cabin Progress

I finally gave the Ropes and Ladders Scarf to my sister for her birthday on Sunday and she loved it. It was a nice reminder of how special you can make someone feel with a handknit gift. Quite timely considering all the Christmas knitting I’ve been doing in the last few months, while admittedly pining away for the post-Christmas selfish knitting!

Muppet Present

I tried to wrap it Last Minute Knitted Gifts-style by using nice scrap yarn in lieu of ribbon. I attempted to make a pompom instead of a bow, but in my opinion, it looks more like a muppet head, don’t you think? Better luck next time I suppose.

5 Comments

  1. Karin said,

    It looks great!

    I have the same blocking board. Honestly I find blocking fun now that I have it!!

  2. lunarawe said,

    The scarf is gorgeous! And I don’t think the pompom looks like a muppet head. It is cute. Nicely done!

  3. alice said,

    Lovely scarf! Also, I like the muppet head effect on the gift package. 🙂

  4. Leah said,

    Your scarf looks great! I’ve heard that it is a major time eater for most knitters but it does turn out so nicely!

    I’m super jealous of the blocking board! I wish santa would bring me one….

    Muppet head? Yeah, a little bit but I like it!!! 🙂

  5. Lisa said,

    Thanks for the shoutout to my scarf! I love it and wear it every day. It’s such a great pattern, right? Love the color of yours. I don’t think I’d mind having one in every color!

Leave a Reply

