I’m Baby-Steppin’, I’m Doing the Work

December 18, 2006 at 10:39 am (FO, knitting)

Baby V-Neck Cardigan

Pattern: Contrast Rib V-Neck Sweater (without the contrast rib, of course)
Source: Baby Knits for Beginners, Debbie Bliss

Materials: Sirdar Snuggly DK (Nylon/Acrylic Blend) in Pearly Green, 2 skeins; Clover Bamboo Single Points, Size 5 and 6
Started: October 14, 2006
Completed: October 22, 2006 (for knitting); December 16, 2006 (for seaming)

Can you say procrastination? I finished the knitting on this in about a week, yet waited almost two months to seam it! This is my official first sweater, and I thought it might be a good idea to start with some, well,  baby steps (har har). As it turns out, I actually like seaming! Go figure. Once I understood the concept, and was able to see which loops I was supposed to be threading the yarn through, it was easy, albeit time consuming. On the other hand, picking up stitches and knitting on the neckband, yeah, I didn’t enjoy that so much. One shouldn’t be allowed to swear as much as I did when lovingly creating a sweater for one’s baby niece. It’s all about the ratios, and I wasn’t feeling the maths on Saturday. So band turned out a bit wonky.

I followed the pattern with the exception of omitting the contrast color for the ribbing. It probably would be a bit more jazzy had I done the contrast color, but I was committed to using yarn from my stash. In the end I decided to jazz it up a bit with some cute buttons I got at my wonderful, wonderful LYS.

I have to say, I would not have been able to do this with the instructions provided in Baby Knits for Beginners. I relied heavily on the Knitters Book of Finishing Techniques by Nancy Wiseman. This book is awesome. It’s incredibly clear, and most of all, it works! I highly, highly recommend it to anyone who is new to sweater construction, or who would like to brush up on their finishing techniques.

I spent about nine hours seaming this up and knitting on the neckband on Saturday, no joke. Next time I seam, I’m going to have to spread it out a bit! But the sweater was definitely a hit when I gave it my sister and brother-in-law. And I can’t wait to see it on my niece. I’m already planning the next sweater for her, maybe the Pea Pod Sweater from Interweave, or the Baby Yoda Sweater from Dogs Steal Yarn (check out Sknitty’s great version) or the previously mentioned Trellisfrom Knitty. My niece is going to be a stylish little lady . . .

(Sorry about the dark image, the weather was pretty dreary all weekend, and I didn’t have time to wait for sunlight before this was given away! Trust me, the color is more pearly green than grey! Oh, and bonus points if anyone can name the movie that this post’s title references :))

5 Comments

  1. Katie said,

    The baby cardigan is beautiful – I particularly like your button choice. I never would have guessed it was your first sweater.

  2. Jodi said,

    It looks great! My first baby sweater was kind of bulky and ugly, but my second was so much fun to knit. I highly recommend the Shawl Collar Jacket in Debbie Bliss’s Special Knits for Babies. I used Malabrigo for it, but it would be awfully nice in Cashsoft or Cashmerino Aran.

  3. Carol said,

    Lovely. The buttons in different colors are the perfect touch. Are you sure that’s your first sweater?

    I love the Finishing book by Nancy Wiseman, too. Tons of useful info.

  4. Leah said,

    It looks fantastic! I have a couple of those sweaters in mind for my new niece/nephew (we don’t know yet) for next year as well! Maybe we can have a little KAL!

    🙂

  5. Elinor said,

    Yeah, Debbie’s instructions occasionally leave one wanting more. I’ve knit the Cable Seed Stitch Jacket from The Baby Knits books several times because it’s an enjoyable pattern, interesting and cute. There are errata on her site though. Need to check those out. Also, I have a baby seed stitch hoodie pattern on my site that’s in need of some test knitters. Let me know if you’d be interested.

Leave a Reply

