The Good Part

December 21, 2006 at 1:43 pm (knitting, oliver, Work in Progress)

So the Christmas knitting has been completed, wrapped and presented to happy recipients. Now I get to really sit back and enjoy the holiday season, and enjoy my long-languishing selfish knitting. Matt and I will be setting off tomorrow on our long drive to Atlanta’s vast urban sprawl to visit his family. Oliver will be spending the holiday week at doggy sleep-away camp. (We found a truly lovely, rural facility that lets the dogs play and romp together several times a day. I hope he wants to come home!) I don’t know what my Internet accessibility will be over the next week, but I don’t anticipate too much posting.

I did want to show you what has been keeping my fingers busy for the last week, the Lace Leaf Shawl. I started it last Thursday night, while in active procrastination mode and avoiding baby-sweater-seaming duties like a champ. I’m already almost done! Seven repeats down and I think I’ll add three more; I want this to be relatively big. May I add, I love this pattern. I just can’t stop knitting it. Isn’t it great when that happens?

Lace Leaf Shawl Progress

I haven’t packed for our trip yet, but I already know what knitting I’m going to bring. Hell, I planned that weeks ago, daydreaming of knitting freedom in the midst of the Christmas-knitting workload. In addition to the Lace Leaf Shawl, I’m hoping to finish the Log Cabin Socks and make some good progress on the Trellis Scarf and Sesame, my main squeezes at the moment. Of course I’ll probably end up bringing the materials for the Swallowtail Shawl and some Jaywalkers, so we’ll see how much work gets done on the WIPs 🙂 Oh, and let’s not forget the Broad Street Mittens. I’m going to need a separate suitcase for just my yarn! Oh how my husband will mock me! But whatever, it’s my vacation and I’m going to knit what I want to. In other knitting news, I frogged my Koigu sock whose heel turning I rejoiced in so thoroughly. I started decreasing for the toe too soon, and soon came to the conclusion that I was going to run out of yarn anyway. Besides the join is uneven and I just think I’d rather find a pretty pattern to do the yarn some justice. Maybe Pomotomous or Monkey? We’ll see.

So maybe I’ll talk to you next week, maybe not, but until whenever I leave you with this picture of my dear Ollie, meeting the Christmas Labrador Retriever bobble-head that my sister gave me. He’s obsessed with it, but who can blame him! (Note the blurry wagging tail, and please ignore the coffee stain on our rug ;).

Ollie Meets Bobblehead Lab

Hope you have a wonderful holiday, whichever one you celebrate!

3 Comments

  1. Karin said,

    Cute dog!

    I thought I had it bad taking the train to Rochester for Christmas. I hope your drive goes well.

  2. Katie said,

    The shawl looks lovely – I really like your choice of color.

  3. Emily said,

    I hope you had a good Christmas! You’ve got some good WIPs….can’t wait to see your progress! That blue for your shawl is gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

