Losing My Perdita

January 24, 2007 at 12:06 pm (Finishing, FO, knitting)

Perdita on Wrist

Pattern:Perdita (Lily of the Valley Lace), by Elizabeth Klett
Source: Knitty

Materials: DMC Pearle Cotton, Size 5 (100 percent cotton) in black, 1 10g ball; Susan Bates Single Points, Size 1; Susan Bates Crochet Hook, Size 1
Started: January 17, 2007
Completed: January 20, 2007

My story of Perdita is one of loss. Mid-week I was struck by a need to cast on and complete the ever-beguiling quick-n-dirty project. As I had a work event on Saturday night for which I wanted to look fierce, Perdita fit the bill. So I hustled off to Joann’s, purchased some DMC cotton (what a range of colors, by the way), hunted through my attic until I found my old stash of seed beads from a previous foray into beading, and cast on. I really enjoyed making it—I found the pattern simple but not tedious, it blocked to perfect dimensions—everything was going smoothly. And then I attempted the finishing. While I have crocheted before, and can execute a chain stitch and single crochet stitch (although that’s about it), executing these maneuvers with a Size 8 hook and worsted weight yarn is quite different than doing so with tiny, slippery cotton yarn, and a tinier, slipperier metal hook.

My finishing was B-A-D (note wonky button below). The pattern directed me to single crochet about a half-inch in, chain six to form a button loop, then do the same for the other half. Well my stitches were way too loose, and my button loops were huge for the tiny buttons I had purchased. But I was in a hurry; my work party was starting in an hour and I had yet to get ready. So what did I do? I fudged it, hand sewing the loops smaller with the crochet cotton and doing a truly remarkably bad job in sewing on the buttons and weaving in the ends. So what do you get when you fudge your finishing? A fudged up bracelet, that’s what!

Perdita

I ended up fiddling with the d%^n thing all night because the buttons kept coming undone, and eventually taking it off and jamming it into my pocket because it was annoying the heck right out of me.

And of course, by the end of the night it had fallen out of my pocket, never to be seen again.

So long, ill-fated Perdita . . . at least until the frustration wears off sufficiently to cast on for another one!

(oh and please note that even in the face of fudging on the run, I did manage to photograph the bracelet for the blog before I dashed . . . that’s dedication! :))

9 Comments

  1. Kim said,

    Oh no! Your Perdita was so lovely too!

  2. Karin said,

    What a bummer. It looks cute though.

  3. carrie m said,

    that’s a knitwear tragedy! so sorry.

  4. isel said,

    Poor thing. Isn’t that funny, though? Perdita means lost in Italian. Perdida in Spanish. I think it was just meant to be. Sorry.

  5. Lisa said,

    oh, that stinks!! isel is right – perhaps it was fated because of the name…

  6. frecklegirl jess said,

    Oh man, that sucks. Sometimes knits just aren’t meant to be. 😦

    It was beautiful though…

  7. Emily said,

    Oh well, luckily you didn’t spend too much time on it but still! It was really cute though and maybe it went to a good home?!! who knows. I wanted to make one of those when it first came out….and yours came out so cute (even if it was fudged) maybe I’ll give it a try!

  8. Katie said,

    Very pretty while it lasted, though. I hope you got plenty of compliments!

  9. Leah said,

    I think it looked great! Sorry you didn’t love it!! 😦

Leave a Reply

