Confession

February 4, 2007 at 1:54 pm (knitting, Work in Progress, Yarn)

I’m going to share with you a dirty little secret.

Ahem.

I’ve never been a completely monogamous knitter, but in the last month, my WIPs have gotten completely out of hand. I usually maintain about three or four different items on the needles, any more than that gives me agita. But I think I may be nearing double digits now, and I’m a little scared of my knitting basket. I just can’t stop myself from casting on. I don’t know what it is: Cabin fever? Post-holiday knitting euphoria? Too many yarn sales?

OK, so I’m taking you with me on my scary journey. Ready? OK.

Hourglass Pullover

Hourglass Yoke

This one is at the top of my list. I’ve finally vacated sleeve island for yokesville, and I’ll hopefully finish it this week now that I’m back on track. Hopefully. If I can keep my mitts off the . . .

Wicked

Wicked Yoke

So, my yarn store? That I love? Had a huuuuge sale. And these four skeins of Cascade 220 in a lovely dark teal just jumped into my basket. It was unreal. Then I got home, promptly downloaded the pattern, and knit the neckband and half the yoke decreases last night. Yeah, this is totally next, I’m in love with this knit.

Anthropologie Capelet

Anthropologie Capelet Yoke

Yeah, I know everyone did this two years ago, but I had bought this Debbie Bliss Merino Chunky a while ago, and what else was I going to do with five skeins of it. Plus, I’ve wanted one of these for a while now. Fingers in my ears, not listening.

Log Cabin Socks

Half Log Cabin

Lest you think I’ve forgotten these, I haven’t. But the chunky weight yarn on size 5 needles causes a lot of pain. So my orphan sock will just have to wait for a sibling a little bit longer until I’m feeling a bit more masochistic.

So that’s not so bad, I guess. But let’s keep in mind that I still have the Trellis Scarf on the needles as well as a random Cable Scarf, Broad Street Mittens, Honeymoon Cami and Sesame cardigan waiting in the wings. Not to mention plans for . . .

Perditas
Future Perditas

and . . .

A Cardigan for Arwen
Arwen Yarn

Sixteen lovely skeins of Elann Peruvian Collection Highland Wool in Oatmeal Heather.

Woo! Well I feel much better now after confessing my knitting trespasses. It’s only ten WIPS – not too bad. And since I don’t really count the Sesame and Honeymoon, as I’m going to rip them it’s really eight WIPs. Maybe someday I’ll have some nice FOs to show you. Better get to work!

6 Comments

  1. Kim said,

    Heehee, don’t you love the cleansing power of a good confession?

    I need to work on a confession post for the 4 pounds of Belgian chocolate currently chilling in my fridge. Yeeesh.

  2. Emily said,

    Oh, that’s not so bad! You shouldn’t be forced to finish something you’re not in love with, like Honeymoon and Sesame! Let’s see, I think I have 5 projects on the needles right now, but one is definitely “dead” and will be frogged soon. The thing is, I have big plans to cast on for 2 major projects very soon!! heheh, I love it!!

  3. Lynn said,

    Wow! Look at all the knitting you’ve accomplished. You are so close to a pile of FOs. Just imagine how wonderful next fall will be!! 🙂

  4. frecklegirl jess said,

    Oh yaay! You are my kind of people. 🙂

    You are knitting nice things too. Whip that hourglass into shape and I am sure you will feel much better.

  5. Leah said,

    Not bad at all! I can’t wait to see those finished up! Wicked is on my list as well as are a couple of pairs of log cabin socks.

  6. Mrs MJW said,

    I understand. I have three unfinished projects…but it still disturbs me. Your log cabin socks are sooo pretty. I’d finish those. Wink.

Leave a Reply

