Second Honeymoon

May 2, 2007 at 8:05 pm (FO, knitting)

We’re taking a trip to Mexico in a few weeks for a friend’s wedding. Since Matt is in grad school and I work full time, we’ve spent precious little time together lately. So as the trip falls on the tail end of Matt’s quarter and I’m finally taking a much needed break from work, we’re viewing it as a sort of second honeymoon.

It’s absolutely perfect that I will have this lovely item to wear . . .

Honeymoon Cami

Honeymoon Cami

Pattern: Honeymoon Cami
Source: Knitty

Materials: Brown Sheep Cotton Fleece (80% Pima cotton, 20% merino wooll) in Nymph, 2.5 skeins; Size 6 24″ circulars
Started: July 2006
Completed: April 30, 2007

I started this last summer, as I’ve stated previously, while on a vacation with Matt’s family. This was my second attempt at a garment, after a botched One Skein Wonder that ended up in the trash. I worked on it all through our travels to Georgia, the week spent on the boat, and the travels home. And then I was spent. The weather became colder, I became more interested in knitting hats, scarves and sweaters, we moved . . . the reasons it went on hiatus are many. But when I cleaned out my knitting basket last week I rediscovered it and finished it up in just one night.

HoneymoonCamiBack

There’s definitely something to be said for putting a project aside when you’ve just lost interest. As much as I’ve been trying to wrap up “loose ends” in my knitlist, I think that at the core, I knit because I love it. Not because I have to have whatever I’m making. So if I’m not enjoying a knit, I say put it aside and let it marinate. If you come back to it and love it again, wrap it up. If not, rip it out and find another project for the yarn. That being said, I’m really glad I finished this one, because I love it. It’s my first finished garment, actually, and even though the gauge is off (I didn’t yet know about swatching in the round last summer) it fits perfectly. Julia Trice, the designer, worked in some beautiful details that really make a difference in the simple design.

HoneymoonCami Detail2HoneymoonCami Detail1

I particularly liked her unconventional decreases and increases. She has a perfectly paired counterpart to the SSK. Going through the trouble of making her left decrease instead of the more common K2tog is worth the effort. I’ll likely use it in other knits; it’s really lovely.

So while it took a while to finish, this knit was definitely worth the wait, just as our trip and resulting one-on-one time will be for Matt and I.

4 Comments

  1. Emily said,

    How cute!! it’s looks great on you! good job!

  2. Stef said,

    It looks great! Cotton fleece, eh? For some reason I thought it required fingering weight cotton, and kept passing it by in favor of instant gratification tanks.

    Have a great time in Mexico!

  3. Leah said,

    Looks really great! Have a great time in Mexico!!

  4. isel said,

    I love this. It looks perfect on you and the color is pretty, like silver, and looks gorgeous against your skin. Really great FO.

Leave a Reply

