What’s Old Is New Again

May 12, 2007 at 4:31 pm (Finishing, knitting, oliver, Work in Progress, Yarn)

Earlier this week, I was rifling through my knitting basket (the less used one upstairs) and I came across an old FO that has never seen the light of day. I finished it in the Spring of last year, I think, and never really liked the color. So I pulled out an errant container of RIT dye, and experimented.

Before:

FO - Dream Swatch Head Wrap

After:

Dream Swatch Headwrap

I think I’ll actually wear it now, although it is a bit on the rolly side. It’s the Dream Swatch Headwrap by Wendy Bernard in Paton’s Grace, in spearmint, dyed blue. This was my first attempt to dye, and even though my bathroom looked like a smurf exploded in there, I think it turned out pretty well!!

I also wrapped up the Tivoli in Blue Sky Alpaca Dyed Cotton this week – here’s a sneak peak at it in its pre-blocked form, I’ll try and put together a full FO post this week.

Tivoli

I also got my Blue Sky Alpaca Silk in Amethyst. I ordered from Kpixie this week since my wonderful LYS was cleaned out, and what fast service! I’ve already cast on for the Clementine Shawlette. I’m really loving this pattern and the yarn is like butter. Yummy.

Clementine Shawlette

This will be perfect travel knitting for the trip next week.

And since someone couldn’t keep their nose out of the photo shoot this afternoon, here’s a few shots of my sweet Oliver. Hope you enjoy your weekend!

OliverDream Swatch HeadwrapDream Swatch HeadwrapOliver

5 Comments

  1. isel said,

    Wonderful dye job. What a difference! It looks great.
    Tivoli looks great too, and the Blue Sky Alacas, YUM!

  2. Emily said,

    Wow, what a difference the dye job made! I love it! Oooo, Blue Sky alpaca silk, I’ve heard that stuff is nice!

  3. Theresa said,

    Wow – that scarf is so much better with the dye. Love it.

  4. kelp! said,

    That dye job is such an amazing transformation for the scarf. And of course it looks great on Oliver, too!

  5. Leah said,

    Wow! I love the way it looks all smurf-ified!! Such a pretty color!

    Ah Oliver! I just want to give him a big snuggle! So cute!!

Leave a Reply

