Summertime, and the Knitting’s Easy . . .

July 8, 2007 at 10:59 am (Inspiration, knitting, reading, Work in Progress)

So my summer has been extremely busy, but never fear, there has been knitting. I finished the back of the Prairie Tunic, and then dove into the ribbing on the ubiquitous Circular Shrug because I needed a break from the fingering weight cotton. Ow, my hands. I’ve been bouncing back and forth between the two projects ever since.
Prairie Tunic

I’m a bit obsessed with the Prairie Tunic though; it’s tickling both my “process” and “gotta have it” knitter halves of my brain, so despite the pain, I can’t keep my mitts off of it.

Circular Shrug

But the Circular Shrug is my “easy on the brains,” soothing knit, so it’s coming along at a nice pace.

Causing me to rearrange my knitting queue yet again has been the lovely Fitted Knits, which my dear husband surprised me with last week (I think he got it to feel better about his own Amazon purchase, but I’m not looking this gift horse in the mouth!) I think I may want to make everything in this book, save maybe the dress and suit at the end. The patterns are all so wearable, and knittable to boot. Since it is summer knitting time though, I think I may want to try the Coquette Lace tube top first, especially after seeing Carrie’s adorable version.

I must be on a tube top kick or something, but I’ve also been casing yarns for the Tube Toporini. I’d like a relatively simple knit to follow up the Prairie Tunic—a quick hit if you will. I’m thinking either Blue Sky Organic Cotton in Bone or Knit Picks Shine Worsted. Any thoughts on a good, firm worsted weight cotton for this pretty little knit?

Can’t think about the next knits too much though, I’m scrupulously avoiding casting anything else on right now—I really want to get these ones done in time to wear it out this summer. This has taken some considerable strength, especially considering that Webs has Debbie Bliss Cathay for about $3 a ball and I’m itching to cast on Knitting School Dropout‘s Leaf T-shirt, and that reclaimed Blue Sky Alpaca Silk is just dying to become a Luna Moth Shawl. Dying. And let’s not even think about the temptation wave I’m hit with every time I pick up Fitted Knits. Must. Stick. to. Plan.

The fact is, I don’t have much time to spare this summer. You see, lately I’ve been dipping into the well of a previous obsession—reading. Before I learned to knit, I was a voracious reader, consuming about four or five books a month, on average. Knitting has slowed this ingestion down to mere bites here and there. I keep an ongoing reading list for the year, much like my knitting project list, that lists books I’ve read, books I own and have not read and books I’d like to purchase/borrow from the library. I’m shocked and appalled to note that I’ve only read four books this year. Yikes.

But I’ve been bitten by the reading bug once again this summer, and it’s a good time to scratch the resulting itch. There are a lot of great books out right now. But of course I had to make a list. Let’s see how far I get . . .

Lost Hearts in Italy, Andrea Lee

Birds Without Wings, Louis De Bernieres

Suite Francaise, Irene Nemirovsky

The Omnivore’s Dilemma, Michael Pollan

Water for Elephants, Sara Gruen

The Last Town on Earth, Thomas Mullen

What are you reading this summer?


6 Comments

  1. Nicole said,

    The Prairie Tunic is looking great!

    I’m reading a lot of things this summer, but I don’t really plan ahead. The book I’ve got going right now is “The Ape and the Sushi Master.”

  2. Lisa said,

    I’m reading the Omnivore’s Dilemma right now, plus squeezing in a re-reading of Harry Potter 6 in preparation for book 7 in two weeks.

    Love the Prairie Tunic. It’s been on my to-knit list since last summer. Check out Blue Garter’s great modifications she did…

  3. adrienne said,

    Your tunic is looking great!

  4. much-adored said,

    the tunic looks beautiful! i haven’t been reading much as of late, but i did just finish The Awakening for the first time. i’m not sure how i’ve lived this long without reading it but, boy, was it a doozy!

  5. Leah said,

    Your tunic looks fantastic! I’m with you on wanting to knit everything in fitted knits! Soooo good!

    Right now I’m reading Atonement by Ian McEwan and American Appetite by Leslie Brenner (I’m almost always reading one non fiction and one fiction book at the same time).

    I just re-read the entire Harry Potter series over the past couple of months in preparation for next week! 🙂

  6. Theresa said,

    That tunic is looking great. Lovely. And it’ll be perfect for summer.

Leave a Reply

