Off to Kentucky…But Will I Get Lucky?

July 26, 2007 at 11:04 am (knitting, Work in Progress)

It’s amazing how since I’ve started knitting, a great deal of thought goes into which knits to bring on a road trip. I used to try to bring WIPs, thinking that if I’m trapped with a knit, I will be forced to finish it. I’ve stopped doing that, it never really worked; I’d just end up stubbornly not knitting what ever I brought along! I do always end up bringing more than one project though, and I’m usually surprised by the knit I choose to work on (i.e., it’s not usually my main knit at the time). So as we’re off to Kentucky for the wedding of two dear friends, I plan on bringing three projects. (Hey, don’t knock it;there’s 20 hours in a car involved in this road trip!)

Prairie Tunic

I’m sure you’re getting sick of these progress shots, but I swear I will finish this by the end of the summer. I had to restart the front side after completely forgetting to do the decreases in the first few inches. That was a little frustrating. But at this point, it’s me versus the Prairie, and like the little pioneer that I am, I will triumph over the fingering weight cotton!!

Monkey Sock #2

The Monkey has been resurrected! Socks are always a good choice for trips, what with the issue of elbow room, and sock #2 is coming along nicely.

And finally, since I always like to bring along a new project, in case any tragedy strikes my WIPs, I’m bringing the fixings for the Coquette Lace tube top from Fitted Knits. Five lovely skeins of Cascade Pima Tencel in a nice shade of medium/royal blue arrived just in time from Webs.

Cascade Pima Tencel

I’m a little blue crazy this summer right? And coming soon, another blue knit, my finished Razor Cami!

Leave a Reply

