Serendipitous Waste

September 3, 2007 at 12:15 pm (Finishing, FO)

I hope everyone has enjoyed their Labor Day weekend; we spent ours puppy-sitting Max, a lovely German Shepherd mix. Naturally, he and Oliver get along famously.

MaxOliver & Max

Sleepy puppies…

Now. On to the knitting.

Maybe I’m a bit on the compulsive side, but I find myself…uncomfortable….with the number of stray yarn balls I have hanging around. I’ve had a number of projects recently that used almost a full ball of yarn less in practice than was stated in the pattern. Now, I’m the type of knitter who will keep knitting until all the yarn is gone, but sometimes the look you’re going for overrides my distaste for yarn waste. Not everyone likes a Dr. Who-style 10-foot-long scarf, even if I’d be ok with it. Exacerbating this problem is the fact that I am incapable of throwing things away, especially things I love as dearly as yarn, and I’m way too lazy to try and sell these skein by skein. I can barely manage to mail my Netflix back. So what’s a knitter to do? Let’s just say that it’s a good thing I’m a fan of the quick-n-dirty project, two of which I finished last week.

Bainbridge Scarf

Bainbridge Scarf

Why hello there chin….

Pattern: Bainbridge Scarf
Source: Pepperknit

Materials: Debbie Bliss Merino DK (100% merino wool) in 46, a dark green,1 skein; Size 5 24″ circulars
Started: August 12, 2007
Completed: August 17, 2007
After seeing some lovely versions of this on Ravelry, I started thinking that I needed a little scarflette to ward off the chill that comes early to Upstate New York. I decided I wanted it in a dark green color, and immediately started casing DK weight yarns on the old Interweb. It then occurred to me that I had a stray ball of Debbie Bliss Merino DK left over from the Irish Hiking Scarf I made for my father last Christmas in, wait for it, a dark green. Five days later, a fun little scarf was born. Almost two weeks later, I finally got around to weaving in the ends and blocking it. Such is me. Once again I was amazed by the yarn’s transformation upon blocking—it really blooms and becomes much, much softer. I swear the color even gets prettier. So bottom line, this was an easy, fast knit that will look sharp and unique in the fall.

Cloche du Boise

Cloche du Bois

Yeah, it’s a little on the long side…

Pattern: Cloche du Boise
Source: Make Me

Materials: Blue Sky Alpacas Dyed Cotton (100% cotton) in Ink,1 skein; Size 8 16″ circulars, DPNs
Started: August 26, 2007
Completed: August 27, 2007
I have a tendency to cruise around on the Internet and save free patterns as I come upon them. I then promptly forget about these patterns and they never see the light of day. Recently, I happened to be cleaning out my “My Documents” folder and came upon a “Patterns” folder I had handily set up. I opened a random PDF file, remembered the cuteness of the pattern and then noted that it called for a yarn that I had: 1) enjoyed thoroughly, and 2) had a stray ball of sitting in my stash, all alone, shameful in its solitude. It took me about 15 minutes to wind up the yarn, and two nights of knitting to finish the hat. Voila! It’s a little on the long side (or my head’s a little on the short side), but it’ll do.

Cloche du Bois

So there you have it, two lovely little projects borne of leftover yarn. Now if i can just figure out what to do with the bag of yarn scraps, taunting me from the bottom of my knitting basket!

And finally, my apologies go out to the Child’s Placket-Neck Sweater and Broad Street Mittens. I’ve been sucked in by the allure of Fitted Knits yet again. I’ve abandoned all other WIPs for the Two-Toned Ribbed Shrug. It’s a bit on the addictive side; I’m already about to pick up stitches for the collar. Speaking of Fitted Knits, I’ll have an FO post for the Coquette Lace Tube Top very soon; just as soon as I can get my s#$t together.

5 Comments

  1. Emily said,

    Oh I like your FOs! I seem to have a ton of leftovers too and I hate how much room they take up and how they make it look like I have a ton of yarn when, in fact, they are just leftovers! I must try to find more patterns for small projects to use them up.

  2. Oksana said,

    You know, I’ve been thinking about what I’d do with leftover yarn as well. As Emily mentioned, it’s possible to find a small project for either one left over yarn or multiple.
    I’ve been toying with the idea of using leftovers for charitable things–knit up squares to eventually make a blanket, hats for newborns, etc. Anything to get rid of those leftovers, right? ; )

  3. Leah said,

    I love projects that use up the little bits of leftovers! These are fantastic!

  4. Alicia said,

    OMG, it’s my dog!! I had no idea you had such a detailed and wonderfully written blog on knitting! You are truly my knitting mentor. And my scarf still looks exactly as beautiful as when it was first knit. Yay knitting! Yay Weenie!

  5. Niki Phillips said,

    what is your puppy mixed with , it looks just like mine . We where told she was mixed with chow , but i really dont think she is . btw i love your knitting 🙂

Leave a Reply

