Time in a Bottle

October 7, 2008 at 9:23 am (Finishing, FO, knitting, Work in Progress)

Hourglass Pullover
Hourglass Sweater
Pattern: Hourglass Pullover by Joelle Hoverson
Source: Last Minute Knitted Gifts
Materials: Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran (55% Merino Wool, 33% Microfibre, 12% Cashmere) in Plum, 11 skeins; Size 8 24″ circs, Size 8 DPNs
Started: December 2006
Completed: October 2008

I finally finished this. I repeat, I finally finished this. And I love it. Why, oh why did I wait so long!

Primary knitting on this lovely pullover was actually completed back in February 2007. But due to the extensive hem knitting that I apparently wanted no part of, this languished in my knitting basket for a year and a half. Cut to a new me, a new season, and a very refreshing finishing spree, and I decided, “Hey! I don’t have to do the hems! I should just knit a new border on this and be done with it.” And a new sweater was born.

As for modifications, we have the aforementioned seed stitch borders, and I also did matching decreases. The pattern calls for just a bar increase in the body and k2tog decreases in the sleeve. I did a lifted increase to make it a bit more seamless and matching k2tog, ssk decreases in the sleeve. It fits perfectly and the yarn is so very soft. I’ve heard some mixed reviews about the pilling factor in this particular Debbie Bliss yarn, but I guess I’ll just have to cross that bridge when I come to it.

In other news, I’ve finished another clapotis in Noro Silk Garden; I’ll do a full FO post when I finally have a picture worthy of its inate loveliness. I’m also well on my way toward finishing the 28Thirty (just one sleeve to go) and I’ve cast on a new set of Dashings in Berocco Ultra Alpaca to replace my favorite fingerless mitts which were tragically lost in a drinking related incident last year. (sob!)

Here’s a sneak peak for you…
ClapotisDashing

Hope everyone is enjoying the crisp, cool fall weather, and busting out their handknits to keep them warm as we head into my favorite time of year…

Permalink 4 Comments